World Federation of
Science Journalists

Media for Environment, Science, Health and Agriculture (MESHA)


Established: 2005
MESHA, officially founded in November 2005, is an organisation that offers support to science reporters covering agriculture, the environment, health and development. Their aim is to encourage networking, training, meetings and workshops among reporters in Kenya.
Key Activities:
MESHA has been steadily growing a strong and effective network of science journalists, scientists, policymakers and communication professionals since its inception in 2005 through its annual Kenya Science Journalists Congress (KSJC) and the African Conference of Science Journalists (ACSJ) held every second year, workshops, mentoring young journalists, field trips and media training in collaboration with various partners in science and development. We also hold quarterly science cafes in Nairobi with various themes. In the 10 years of MESHA’s existence the association has supported and worked with other networks and organisations across Africa and beyond in supporting science journalism. A key local achievement is the establishment of seven chapters based in rural areas that foster and promote science journalism at the grassroots level. MESHA has also produced a 14 minute documentary on science journalism in Africa called Friends of Development.

Since October 2014, MESHA publishes a quarterly science magazine called SAYANSI (Kiswahili word for Science). The magazine captures stories and issues in science and development in Kenya and beyond. MESHA also carries the latest news and features on her website which also features opportunities for the professional development of members.
70 members
WFSJ (member)

Otula Owuor I Patron – Science Africa, Nairobi County
Violet Otindo I Chairperson – K24 TV, Nairobi County
Aghan Daniel I Secretary – African Seed Trade Association, Nairobi County
Francis Mureithi I Treasurer – Nation Media Group, Nakuru County
Maureen Odiwuor I Assistant Treasurer – Standard Media Group, Kisumu County
Agatha Ngotho I Assistant Secretary – Star Newspaper, Nairobi County
Kitavi Mutua I Committee Member – Nation Media Group, Kitui County
Zeynab Wandati I Committee Member – Nation Media Group, Nairobi County
Petronillah Wangui I Committee Member – Nyeri County

Financing: Various partners and MESHA own funds
AGHAN, Daniel
Secretary, MESHA
P.O. Box 1285,00100 and
Tel +254 732 229 230/0728279966