About us

The World Federation of Science Journalists (WFSJ) is a not-for-profit, non-governmental organisation, representing 55 science journalists’ associations of science and technology journalists from Africa, the Americas, the Asia-Pacific, Europe and the Middle East. The Federation encourages strong, critical coverage of issues in science and technology, environment, health and medicine, agriculture and related fields.

The WFSJ seeks to further science journalism as a bridge between science, scientists and the public. It promotes the role of science journalists as key players in civil society and democracy. The Federation’s goals are to improve the quality of science reporting, promote standards and support science and technology journalists worldwide.

European Nuclear Education Network (ENEN) is an International non-profit organization established on 22 September 2003 under the French Law. ENEN’s mission is the preservation and further development of expertise in the nuclear fields by higher Education and Training.

IAEA Safety Principles

//IAEA Safety Principles

Ten principles with a worldwide recognition


Launched in 1957 to promote the safe, secure and peaceful uses of nuclear science and technology, the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) has enshrined in its statute Safety and Security; Science and Technology; and Safeguards and Verification.

Reporting to the United Nations and its Security Council, the IAEA develops standards to ensure the safety and security of all kinds of nuclear facilities.

To fulfil its fundamental safety objective of protecting people — individually and collectively — and the environment without unduly limiting the operation of facilities or the conduct of activities that give rise to radiation risks, the IAEA adopted 10 major principles :

Safety principles

These principles were formulated in simple language to ensure everybody could understand them, but they are thoroughly detailed/explained in the Fundamental Safety Principles publication SF1.

However, the IAEA has no power to enforce the application of the principles by IAEA member countries. Even though these ten principles are implemented worldwide among IAEA members, accidents often reveal a lack of or a breach in the culture for safety (go to accidents/incidents).


As a direct consequence of the 1986 Chernobyl accident, the International Nuclear Safety Advisory Group issued the publication INSAG-12 , “Basic safety principles for nuclear power plants”, to detail specific principles that should apply to nuclear power plants.